Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Using Excel VB Sample Code Sheet

Hi all,

I am fairly new to the Betfair API. I have just downloaded the sample code sheet to see what the results look like when implementing the API with excel.

I have got myself an App Key and Session ID which worked using the test screen on the Betfair developers site. However i am having trouble in learning how to use the sample sheet, it has the rows which i have listed below and i have tried entering an ID from a normal betfair URL and various other things but none of that works.

I wondered if somebody could let me know what to type and how to instruct the sample code to retrieve betfair prices?

Raw Response: listEventTypes
    Raw Response: listMarketCatalogue
    Raw Response: listMarketBook
    Raw Response: placeOrders

Event Type ID
    Market ID
    Selection ID
    Prices
    Result
    Instruction Result

Thanks in advance

I haven't used the Excel VBA spreadsheet example. For some reason it wouldn't open in my copy of Excel 2010. My coding has been in VB.NET.

Have you looked at the documentation? That has more examples in it.

I'd suggest you familiarise yourself with these, if you haven't already:

1. JSON. I believe there's a tutorial on the w3c site
    2. Check out curl. You may not need to use it for VBA/API calls, but it'll give you an idea what calls look like and what other bits and pieces need calling.
    3. The relevant stuff in the documentation. Sometimes looking at the examples for other coding languages can help.

To get odds, you call ListMarketBook. Beforehand, you will have chosen an event (listEvents) and obtained details of one or more markets for that Event using listMarketCatalogue.

There's an awful lot to learn about.

Comment

Originally posted by vexxejr View Post
      I am fairly new to the Betfair API.
      me too

Originally posted by vexxejr View Post