Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to interpret data returned from listMarketBook into readable odds?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to interpret data returned from listMarketBook into readable odds?

So I'm very new to the Betfair API and a little confused...apologies if this sounds like an obvious question but I'd appreciate people's help here...I have managed to get a set of filtered "MATCH_ODDS" data out of the API for a number of football/soccer games happening this weekend (at time or writing).

So I understand that you have three "selections" represented by selectionid - these being Home win, away win and draw. The listMarketBook call gives me "price" and "size" for each of these outcomes linked to the respective back/lay for each outcome.

How do you translate the information returned in this call into readable odds like you see in the bookies i.e. 5/2, 2/1 etc. It isn't striking out as obvious to me? I'm using the API demo tool at the moment, but will be building something in a Laravel/PHP environment so if there are caluclations that I need to make etc from the data please let me know.

Result set is currently looking like this:

apisnap.PNG
    Last edited by kaanu; 12-03-2021, 12:42 AM.

The returned odds are called decimal odds (computers don't do fractions very well).

The decimal odds equate to fractional odds plus one, so if mutiplying backs odds by stake gives you your return if the bet wins.

So, for the examples you mention, 5/2 is 3.5, 2/1 is 3.0. And 2.0 is evens.

Clearly, some traditional odds can't be easily represented in decimal format, but as long as you're fairly adept with mental arithmetic, it's not too hard to see roughly what odds are. A list of equivalents on the wall would make an easy cross-reference guide.

The smallest odds that you can back or lay is 1.01 and the highest is 1000.

Increments (or "ticks") between allowable odds depend on the range, and are as follows:

1.01 to 2.00 - 0.01